“We’re gonna jazz it around a bit.”

Today I finished my first buck trophy mount; I’m ultimately pleased with my work.   The ears are carded and need a few days to dry, and then I’ll detail the face with a little air brushing.

I got home from school to find Mr. M, the house cat, resting up after an emergency trip to the vet.  Apparently some feral cat (or coyote?)  had sunk its teeth into Mr. M’s back and the bite had created an abscess which got infected.  I recalled feeling a small lump on his back but by the time Sunday had rolled around the boys told me it had opened and was leaking puss.

Ew.

So the vet had to stitch up the one bite mark and insert a drainage tube in the other.  When I walked in that afternoon, after sewing up deer hide all day, I looked at Mr. M for a moment, admiring the stitches and not mentally registering what had happened to the poor little guy.  “Frankenkitty”, the boys called him.  Following over the next few days were the inevitable comments about what happens when one leaves their pet in the care of a taxidermist.

One thought on ““We’re gonna jazz it around a bit.”

  1. Pingback: MINKY « Bethbeverly's Blog

Leave a Reply

