Horses? What horses?

My Memorial Day was deliciously taken with white wine and cheese-filled, prosciutto wrapped figs at the Brandywine Polo Club with a side of horse action.

My two lovely hat models accompanied me and supplied the picnic:

We had front row seats for all the action.  I’m still getting a grasp on exactly how polo works, but despite all the things I don’t know, I can say with absolute certainty that it’s an event I could watch for hours.  The athleticism, the pageantry, the uniforms…

My GOD the uniforms….

Unfortunately my action shots are embarrassingly low-rent, but I know someone who took about five hundred OUTSTANDING photos and her name is Amy Dragoo of akdragoophoto.com.  Please please check them out; you will not be disappointed.

I almost think she and I were the only ones watching the game!  Polo is fun like that; there is so much eye candy and great conversation, it can be hard to concentrate.  I was rewarded for my focus by seeing several truly fantastic plays, none of which were caught by my camera.  It’s much, much better in person though.

At the mid-game break, the fans are invited to step onto the field and stomp the upturned bits of earth back into the ground.  It’s fun to watch people accidentally jam their shoes into some fresh horse crap.

These are the fascinators I worked on for the event.  The one on the right has actually made an appearance at the club before but it complimented the ensemble better than the one I had just finished, so that one will debut at another time.  Polo matches are the perfect place to wear fantastical head-gear; not only is the the sky (literally) the limit but they act as a magnet for other fun people to strike up conversations.

Also, I think it’s polite to dress up for the horses who are working so hard.

I’m hooked. You might be too…take a gander at what’s available at Diamond Tooth so you can get gusied up for the next match!

See you there…

 

3 thoughts on “Horses? What horses?

  1. Pingback: Ladies Day 2011 « Bethbeverly's Blog

  2. Pingback: Hats Off! « Bethbeverly's Blog

Leave a Reply

