Twinkle, twinkle, little bat. I wonder what you’re at.

Remember when I mentioned a few months back that somebody was getting married?

Yes, yes…while the nuptials haven’t quite taken place, the party has been presented their headwear for the big day so I am free to share them with you, my little doormice (all 8 of you!)

Birthday?  My dear child, this is NOT a birthday party.

Is this getting curiouser and curiouser?  My apologies, but “Alice through the Looking Glass” is such an irresistibly quotable story.  It’s also the theme of this bride’s wedding.  Without knowing this, I suggested using a petit lapin as the taxidermic element to her fascinator:

This is a detail shot to show just how delicate this little guy is.  I used an antique hand-made glass eye to give the face more expression, depth, and dolliness.  This ain’t your mamma’s March Hare.

For the 5 bridesmaids I made a collection of combs with similar elements/color, but each unique in its own fashion, just like the girls themselves!  Each one is based on a pheasant wing, with a bird (mostly pheasant) talon and then embellished with vintage findings:

Read the directions and directly you will be directed in the right direction…

It would be so nice if something would make sense for a change.

Off with their heads!

And here is the bridal piece, in its full glory.  I’m very proud of this one; the tatted lace base was provided by the bride and blends with the rabbit perfectly.  I am eager to see photos of all the beautiful girls wearing these on the Big Day!


While looking for a fun little video to insert into this post, I found a gem series called “Alice on the Wall.”  Oh boy.

Leave a Reply

