A special comb for a special gal

Here is a comb I was recently commissioned to make for a friend as a gift for her sister-in-law.  Commissions are my favorite assignments; I thrive on personalizing things for specific individuals.   The recipient in this case has reddish hair, and appreciates a flash of bright color.  I incorporated a cameo because it reminded me of the couple who commissioned the piece.

According to my friend, the cameo resembles her sister-in-law!  My personalised work seems to somehow magically blend in perfectly with the wearer’s style and personality; I truly think this is where I excel.  These are the times when I follow my instincts and it works.

Here’s a full-sized image.  I just had to get these shots quickly since I had to run out and deliver the piece.  It’s comprised of pheasant, peacock and misc bird feathers; some were manipulated and curled.  I also incorporated vintage gems and beaver fur.

 

And here is another picture.  It is so ridiculously hot in here and I can’t think.  Words hard.

Leave a Reply

