“We make good trade, John Dunbar”

 

That’s what my dear old friend Erin was expressing to me last night when I presented her with her custom piece of fine taxidermic millinery.

Erin is a very talented stylist over at JuJu Salon in Philadelphia and fortunately for me, also one of my best friends.  Several months back we agreed to swap a hair coloring & a couple blowouts ( my ultimate indulgence!  Someday soon I’ll be able to afford my weekly vice…) for a Diamond Tooth hat.  I was given instructions not to rush; she wanted me to take my time so her piece would be just right.

I held out just long enough for this green vintage hat to walk into my life which I knew immediately would suit her perfect.  Silly me; I didn’t get any before pics but this hat in particular had significant crumple-age; after pressing and blocking it looked like an entirely new piece!  Once the millinery issues were straightened out  I added the squirrel portion.  From there its just a perfect storm of found objects and me being in the zone and loving what I’m doing….and trying not to get too carried away.

 

I brought the hat over to Erin last night and she was pleased as punch!  It fit her like  a dream too, I shall get some pictures of her wearing it shortly. I even got a surprise blow-out!

OK, that;s all the flexing my vocabulary has the energy for.  It’s so hot in here and I just can’t seem to find any more words. Take it away, Tom Tom Club:

Leave a Reply

