Giddyup!

Incase you didn’t know, we’re in the middle of a ridiculous heat wave, and while I tend to prefer warmer climes, today I’ve given up on trying to get anything done.  Unfortunately the first thing to go when I overheat is my vocabulary, so I’ll make this brief.  Here are some photos from last Sunday’s Chasin’ for Chalfin fundraising polo match, which was a blast.  The sun became a bit oppressive for us delicate flowers at one point but fortunately some seasoned tailgaters absorbed us into their party.  Behold the pros:

Much better visual coverage can be found on Susan Scovell’s site: Susan Scovill on the Mainline.  That’s where I found this lovely group shot of Meredith, myself and our hosts.  I made a new hat specifically for the day, and I’m quite pleased with it.  Better pictures to follow.

Voila!  The front of our tailgate, an antique Rolls Royce.  Looks pretty glamorous, no?

Wait until you see the back!

That would be our hosts, pulling the custom-fitted wooden folding table out of the trunk.  Upon it was placed a heaping amount of finger sammies, meats, cheeses, and a dubious mixture in a plastic bottle with the words “polo punch” scribbled on it.  It tasted like citronella, perhaps an acquired taste?  (Give me a break, I’m still learning the ways of the tailgate!)  Regardless, it was a divine picnic.

In the event you were wondering, it’s never the wrong time to whip out your Hooters coozy.  Never.

This is what I love about polo.  Everyone is there to have fun, and it’s all-inclusive.  Just.  Have.  Fun.

And try not to step in any horse shit during the half time divot stomp! (I did, this time.  I guess I was overdue)

We were treated to a show of this horse-pulled carriage toting around two elegant gentleman and several gorgeous ladies., who dismounted and served us all champagne.  Delovely!

“yes, that’s the right shade of yellow.  Perfect, darling, please proceed.”

Oh, right, there was an antique car show!  Pretty nifty one here.

Believe it or not, there was an entire polo match that day!  There will be another one this Sunday, with cocktails, an after party and music!  Oh!  And a hat contest to be judged by yours truly.  Won’t you come?  I’d love to see you, darling.

Tickets start at ten bucks!  I highly recommend you treat yourself to some VIP action though, check it out.

Click here for tickets: BRANDYWINE POLO CUP

Until then, the caravan of fab has left the building.

See you Sunday!

2 thoughts on “Giddyup!

Leave a Reply

