I Always Dress for Success

And that’s what last Sunday’s polo match was all about.  Us spectators were treated to a  beautifully played match (although I spent a good portion of it mingling in the VIP tent tasting amazing food and drinking Magners and champagne I really have to curb my socializing but it’s so hard with all the great people to chat with!) and we were cheering for a cause: Dress for Success.  Hit that link and familiarise yourself if you haven’t already.  It’s ok, I’ll wait.

OK, that’s hacky.  Sorry.  Anyway, it was action packed, and while Susan Scovill has all the great pictures of the people (including me serving champagne for the halftime divot stomp!), she is unfortunately (for us) on vacation so I cannot borrow her images.  In the meantime, I have a few fun shots of my own as well as some borrowed ones from Amy Dragoo and Milicia Stojancic.

The beautifully captured photos of the horse-action is all Amy.  I think I am her biggest fan.  I truly adore her work.  It doesn’t hurt that she’s a quickly blossoming chicken master, either.

There was a hat contest advertised, and yours truly was slated to be judge.  The wheels sort of fell off that bus early in the day however, which is unfortunate because there were some pretty hats.  I chose my three favorites, anyway, and below is Cecilia (a rep for Dress for Success, coincidentally, although I didn’t know if when I chose her!) who I deemed “Most Classic Hat”.

Look at that priceless reaction; clearly it’s in response to one of the flawless coast to coast hits during the match.  She can’t believe her own eyes!

“Most Creative Hat” would’ve gone to my new pal Milicia Strojancic.  She crafts these lovely fascinators with botanical themes.

Pretty ladies! That’s Milicia’s friend Christine with us; she had a sweet little bird on the back of her head but we thought it would be polite to take a picture of her front)

There were some pretty ladies on the field, too:

Duke & Winston set up shop outside the VIP area; Pearl and I had the extreme pleasure of tending to this charming little guy while his human did all the grunt work of setting up the merch:

(I borrowed this picture from their website…again, Susan has all the good pics.  Susan, come home SOON!)  I also picked up a shirt for my mister; the tees are made from a really high quality cotton and I could touch them for hours.  Oh, and there’s some pretty cool screen printed images on them too.

The winners!

The only time its acceptable to wear filthy white pants.  Well played, gentlemen.

I had seen another hat which I deemed “Best Vintage” but the wearer disappeared before I had a chance to get a photograph.  It was a beautiful white cloche-type chapeau with a large white multi-pleated ribbon hugging the back of it.  I did manage to catch a shot of this lovely gal, who I made a category up for:  “Best Dressed”:

She has a polo match on her dress!  I love it.  She’d also been dancing, as we all had.  Nobody’s shoes lasted too long after the music started.

Here’s myself and polo pal Pearl.  We got pretty silly, like we always do, and had plenty of laughs.

And then somebody whipped this stuff out and the rest is kind of fuzzy…..

See you next time!!!

Leave a Reply

