I came BEARing gifts.

 

Har.

Well, it wasn’t technically a gift as it was for a client and she paid for it, but the amount of love and time I poured into this piece could warrant usage of the term “gift”.

This  rug was a dream project, as I think rugs are beautiful and functional, as well as a joy to make.  I was instructed to “make a bear skin rug with lots of diamonds and flash”.

Ideal Diamond Tooth project, yes?

I found the hide already skinned and tanned from a hunter in Maine who had harvested it with a bow and arrow.  Knowing that this specimen had been sourced ethically and the meat was sustaining a family, I proceeded with confidence.

Diamond tooth, check.  Sparkling eyes, check.  Diamond nose stud, chain from nose to diamond stud earring, check and check.

Oh!  And tongue ring!

Diamond manicured paws, but of course.

After hand stitching the entire lining onto the hide I attached the fringe along with my tag along the bottom.  Finis!

I could hardly BEAR to see it go.  The fur was so soft and warm; I know it will feel just divine on a cold winter night.

Would this piece win any ribbons at a taxidermy competition?  Probably not.  It’s not perfect.  But I’m proud of it, I think it’s beautiful, and I hope she brings my client many a smile.

2 thoughts on “I came BEARing gifts.

Leave a Reply

