20 for 20, # 3: Put a Zoe on it.

I just finished making a hat box which is housing the halo fascinator I just finished custom making for Rachel Zoe.  I doubt she’s aware of myself or this blog so I feel like the risk of ruining the surprise by posting this before she receives it is minimal. While this is technically the third piece I’ve created for my 20for20 project, #2’s gift is still traveling through the postalverse and I know she reads this so I don’t want to spoil it for her.  So there’s that.

In a few hours, this piece will be en route to Madame Zoe, by means of which I don’t care to bore you with.   The box is somewhat hastily made and it shows, but what’s inside was made with plenty of love and thought.

 

I used a vintage halo-shaped fascinator base and built on it with feathers from a variety of foul, along with some salvaged antique mink tails.  My impression of Rachel Zoe is romantic hollywood gypsy, and while I know very little about her personally, I selected her for this project because I love her style, I admire her tenacious drive, and am inspired by the better-to-apologise-later-than-ask-first attitude I imagine her to have.

Unfortunately I don’t have a blonde wig but I anticipate the brown velvet and feathers popping quite nicely against her light hair.  The charms make a nice tinkly noise and their translucency in the sunlight gives this piece a very gypsy feel.

I just hope it fits her!  That’s the tricky part about designing unsolicited gifts for people-how to predict sizing.  I have very thick hair though, and that’s underneath the wig (ha!  I wish this luxurious mane were my real hair!), so there should be a small amount of wiggle room.

Fancy chickens, pheasants, grouse, and vintage trinkets.  Let Madame Zoe look into your future…..

 

2 thoughts on “20 for 20, # 3: Put a Zoe on it.

Leave a Reply

