No time to say hello goodbye I’M LATE!

I wish I had just listened to this song this morning when I felt so rushed.  I really hate rushing.  It’s  bad for the constitution and just pointless really.  I feel much better when I slow down.

This morning however, I was tired and foolish.  I stayed up until 2am  skinning a cat (that’s another blog post for another time) and got up early enough to set up the backdrop and persuade Jim to shoot this piece before he left for work so I could drop it off at my client’s shop today.  These early and harried morning shoots don’t come with a model so I will happily slap a wig on and try my best.  After seeing these photos, though, I have decided that looking tired and cranky in no way makes a pretty picture.

That said, here is the piece in question:

Behold the White Rabbit from “Alice in Wonderland”.  Oooo, writing that just made me crave those white rabbit licorice treats I used to find in Chinatown.

Anyway, this woman has an event and commissioned me to create a “rabbit mask type of hat” and that was my starting point.  I gave him a monocle, although having just watched a few videos of the rabbit in action, I see he actually wore glasses and carried a pocket watch.  No matter, monocles are cooler and this one s made from a vintage watch face so take that, facts.

As a bonus I threw in the rabbit feet on a chain that can be clipped in the hair…or on a belt, whatever pleases the wearer.

Fuck, I look so angry.  Good thing nobody came up and slapped me on the back.

I’m also annoyed because this could have been styled so much better, with a wicked up-do and some makeup.  Perhaps my client will be willing to sit for me someday.

And now to cleanse your palette:

These shots are actually a reference to some magazine clippings a friend passed onto me when I first started dabbling in taxidermy.  I wish I could remember the stylist/publication but it was an entire spread of adorable animal heads placed atop vases.

Here’s one last shot but Rabbit really has to go because he’s late he’s late he’s late!

xoxoB

2 thoughts on “No time to say hello goodbye I’M LATE!

  1. I just reposted your link on our blog post from Devong now that I know your name and have info on you. I’m even more in awe after looking at the rest of your creations. You truly are an amazing artist with a phenomenal gift!

Leave a Reply

