Devon Dressage? More like Bon Voyage!

It’s been a hectic couple of weeks and I’ve neglected this blog.  Did anyone notice?  I hope so.  Anyway, I’ve been wrapped up in outside jobs like painting pumpkins for a corporate gig and transcribing VHS tapes of reality shows.   I do these things to support my taxidermy habit.   In other words, I work so that I can work.  It’s exhausting but thankfully one of my many hats requires me to spend copious amounts of down time lounging on the Lido deck of cruise ships where I catch up on all my beauty rest.  In fact, I’m leaving for one of those trips in just a few hours, and I will soak up every drop of precious sleep that comes my way because once I hit dry land again, it’s go time for holiday craft show prep, the annual Carnivorous Nights/MART competition and other projects in the works. Amongst all this hustle bustle I attended Devon Dressage last week.  This week long event features a ladies hat day and as you may recall I received accolades for my squirrel fascinator entry last year.  I believe that my work has improved significantly since then and was quite proud of this years entry, a black rooster bedecked with crystals and gems mounted in such a fashion so that it would appear to be curling up on the wearer’s head, and providing bangs out of its wings.  Sadly, I have no pictures from the event but last night my friend Rachel came by for some wine and chat and a photo project so we snuck in a couple shots of the new rooster hat just for fun:

Pardon my dirty mirror; let  your eyes instead be dazzled by the giant cock on my head.

Anyway.  Devon Dressage.  I didn’t win a thing. Nada!  Zilch!  Can you believe it?  I couldn’t, but then I saw this guy was one of the judges and figured I should take his millinery opining with a sizable grain of salt.  I know I’m a winner and that’s that counts, (or so mother always told me) so I gracefully let the other women take what I thought should be mine and spent the rest of the day in heaven with two dear friends, watching beautiful horses and insanely skilled riders perform the horse ballet known as dressage.

So now it’s almost midnight and I have to decide if I should just stay up a few more hours or try to get a tiny bit of sleep.  I’m all packed with plenty of Diamond Tooth goodies in tow (hopefully this time will not be a repeat of DELTA= Don’t Expect Luggage To Arrive) so I can properly saturate the high seas with my product.  Plenty of pictures and fun stories to follow, see y’all next week!

xoxo BB

Leave a Reply

