Crack is Whack, especially when it comes to antlers.

 

I was recently contacted by a friend of a friend of a friend with a Caribou mount that had suffered a cruel demonstration of gravitational force, resulting in a chipped and cracked antler.  When I stopped by to inspect it, it became quite clear this part had been broken before and undergone a sub-par repair job with mis-matching paint to boot.

 

What I did first was use an industrial strength epoxy bond to get the actual pieces back together.  After it had set, I recreated the original surface with a sculptural epoxy.  I finessed it with water and my fingers, then allowed it to dry.

The view from the back:

After completely drying, I did a little sanding (like my tween girl nail polish?) to eliminate any hidden bumps or uneven surfaces that didn’t belong on the antler.

 

Next came the painting.  A few coats, some blending, some magic, and voila!  Repaired antlers.

And that, my friends, is just another one of the things this taxidermist does.

2 thoughts on “Crack is Whack, especially when it comes to antlers.

  1. Great repair job,had a boar head mount take a tumble and the repaired head is better than the orginal mount. Nice job! Ralph

Leave a Reply

