Art for Animals, pt. 1

I recently made this Starling Fascinator as a donation for an event called “Art for Animals”, a fundraiser for the Pennsylvania SPCA.  It’s a “silent auction of art, design, and offerings from leading cultural institutions (like Diamond Tooth!)”.  It’s tomorrow night and if you’ve got some shekels burning a hole in your Birkin, by all means stop by and place a bid!  The proceeds shall go to the Pennsylvania SPCA in partnership with Michael Garden of CITYSPACE Real Estate.

It might seem odd that a taxidermist would be asked to donate a piece to an SPCA event, but I hope my participation in such things drives home the point that I (like most in my field) have a deep and profound love for animals.   Why not invest the time, blood, sweat and tears into preserving something so beautiful, and celebrating it?

No matter, if you’re reading this I’m most likely preaching to the choir so I’ll just tell you about my piece.  I toned it down a bit (read: no heads or feet) and used several pairs of Starling wings on a vintage fascinator base.

Here is the 3/4 front view:

And turning towards the back:

 

I embellished it with a chunk of antique bracelet from Wilbur Vintage.

The back.  Along with the bracelet I added chains from another antique necklace.  They are attached on either end but can swing a bit with the wearer’s head movements.  Perfect for haughty walking, which is my favorite kind.

 

The back right side. Chains are attached to the bracelet link, which is layered atop a patch of starling feathers.

And here is the right front view.  Pretty nifty, huh?  I think whomever bids on this piece and wins is an individual possessing impeccable taste.  Could it be you?

 

I plan on taking a break from all my Craft Bazaar prep  and stepping out for a bit tomorrow night at this auction.  I’ll post part two on Thursday with some photos from the event as well as what you’ll all be dying to know which is WHO walked away wearing the most stunning head-gear (next to me, of course) of the night.

Until then, xoxoB

Leave a Reply

