2012 Biennial Rogue Taxidermy Exhibition: Truly Outrageous

I’m almost done packing my bags and headed off to bed to get some beauty sleep before I hop on a sexy new Virgin America airplane for a direct flight to LA. 

I’m almost as excited for the flight as I am for the purpose of my entire trip, which is this:

I’m over the moon to be showing with some folks I’ve been admiring from afar for quite some time now.  It’s truly an honor to be in their company.  I still have pangs of self-doubt here and there as I prepare for this trip, wondering how my pieces will measure up in person when displayed next to everyone else’s.

And yes, I know it’s not a competition and I know those aren’t pretty feelings but it’s me giving you the truth.  I also know that everything I fret about always turns out fine in the end so I’ll cross my fingers, kiss my elbow, and enjoy my mini vacation.

Speaking of crossing fingers, you may recognise that gal above from such things as your childhood, saturday mornings, or recent forays into tv nostalgia.  It’s Jetta, from the Misfits.  My three submissions in the show are hats of course, all made from chickens sourced at my dear friends’ farm.  As the pieces came together and I listened to MIA’s “Bad Girls” song on repeat (I cannot stress enough how much of an inspiration this video has been on every single facet of my life) , these identities started rearing their naughty heads.

Jetta is composed of a Brahma Hen mounted atop a vintage pillbox cap.

Sparkly embellishments abound, of course.

I’ll bet you remember most clearly Pizzazz, the leader of the Misfits.  Man, what a bitch.

This Polish rooster was just dripping with attitude  (wait until you see the spurs on this cock) and came to be Pizzazz quite naturally.

I see you!

This guy is also perched atop a vintage hat, this one an old mink pillbox.

Last and never least is Roxanne. Did you know she was from Philly?  Of course she was.  And I’ll bet she walked around with a razor blade stashed in her mouth, Goretti girl style.

Roxy is a Buff Orpington Hen with a bad-ass beak piercing, nestled firmly into another vintage pillbox hat.  I should mention that the brass sculptural elements are from a remarkable lamp I trash-picked one Sunday morning- a time which I never would have been out and about except for walking what was at the time a brand new puppy.  So thank you, Jonesy, for that.

So that’s that. In keeping with my theme I’ve whipped up a poultry themed ensemble which I will be tweeting and facebooking and blogging all about so stay tuned should you be so inclined.

Along with the show opening, I’m pretty pumped to catch some good comedy in LA (I’m a stand-up hound, did you know that?) and perusing some estate sales.   Or napping in a hammock and eating some stellar sushi.  For now, toodleooooooo!

One thought on “2012 Biennial Rogue Taxidermy Exhibition: Truly Outrageous

Leave a Reply

